Update on Grandma

So it has been almost a year since I wrote about my Grandmother and her health. She seems to be loosing her mind yet my step mom insists it’s just normal aging “Doc says all is well” I’m sorry but no. No longer recognizing your granddaughter isn’t just normal senility. I’ve seen first hand the trauma of Dementia and Alzheimer’s. Grandma most definitely has one of those.  Nor am I buying my Stepmother’s claims that the cancer is at bay, that the Tamoxifen is working miracles. Especially since at one point you claimed that the cancer had started to metastasize and was spreading to her hip and her back.  I wish they wouldn’t sugarcoat stuff for us anymore. My sister and I are grown adults, we can handle the truth. All I do know is that her quality of life is terrible. She now lives with my Dad, and when home all she does is watch TV, that’s it. As an attempt to keep her active she is enrolled in an adult daycare center. I am not sure if it helps or not. What I DO know is that my heart aches for Gran. With each visit I am thrown into the deepest, darkest depths of depression. Why do they sweetest of the elderly either die on the young side, or have the worst symptoms of aging possible? Grandma does not deserve to spend her final years on earth in such agony. I don’t think anything can be done to make her life better. My parents try, I don’t think the problem is lack of care on their part, I just don’t know how to make her mental state better, or if even that is a possibility. Just have to keep visiting I guess…..

Leave a Reply

